Nala's Blog


A tired dog is a happy dog
July 10, 2011, 9:35 AM
Filed under: Home Life, Uncategorized

My grandma always tells us that a tired dog is a happy dog. In light of this my mom and dad decided to take me on a ‘long walk’ which ended up being an almost 2 hour hike on the cliffs overlooking Palos Verdes. This was my FIRST hike…. and I think I tackeld it pretty well.

It started with me pulling a little on the leash because I was SOOOOOOOO excited. I couldn’t hold back my excitement at this new area and all these new dog, animal smells.

I wasn’t too sure about the car because it’s different than the usual cars that I ride in however I trusted my mom and dad and got in after some coersion.

We started down the widest path because that’s how everyone gets to the fun stuff. Once we turned a few corners we got to a smaller path that I could navigate very easily by jumping around and running. I wasn’t too into the walking that my mom was doing but I was attached to her and was forced to wait a few times. I found and met a new animal on this trail, A HORSE and I was initially scared, but then I just felt like walking next to it because it’s so big so it must know what’s going on.

I was taken aback by the bikers in general as they passed me the first few times, but after that I got used to them. In general I don’t like when people are not running or walking and have wheels to transport them. Other than cars I’m a little weary of people who don’t use their legs.

Throughout the walk I consumed LOTS of water. It was hot after all….. My parents were carrying 2 water bottles for the 3 of us, and I’m pretty sure that I drank more than my fair share. I also made lots of friends on our hike because everyone seems to take their dogs to these trails so that was also fun for me.

Afterwards I was rewarded with a grassy field and water in my travel bowl:

And then everyone relaxed for a few more minutes while I drank a TON of water that came from the fountan at the end of the walk. It was a successful day!!!

A workout, sunshine, a happy dog.

And eventually…. a sleepy dog.

And then an even sleepier dog:

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I was there this weekend too. Too bad I missed you, and the first encounter with the horse.=)

Comment by david

I wish you had said so. She would have loved another person to tug on and race down the hill.

Comment by nalacrabbie




Leave a Reply

